Heavenly Time Machines

I was returning home from office, when something wet landed on my forehead. For one dreadful moment, I thought a bird blessed me with its droppings, but to my relief I discovered that it was just a drop of water. Just then, another drop landed on my hand & then another on my right foot.

I looked up & saw several threatening shades of grey. With a child like grin on my face, I quickened my pace. A strong fragrance erupted from mother Earth, which transported me into another realm…

I am six… I am playing with my friends… we are playing with mud… it starts toIMG_20140720_103339 pour… we run for shelter… the earthy smell… the smell is soo sweet…we run out into the rain…we make paper boats…my boat gets stuck…I free it with a twig…we chase our boats down the stream…

The honking horn pulls me back to the present. A car drives past me, splashing muddy water all around. I jump sideways, but it’s too late. I look at my feet covered in mud. It makes me smile, as I am taken to another point in time…

I am eight… I am proud of my ultra white canvas shoes & my crisp white uniform… I see a huge puddle in front of the school gate… I see others leaping across it… I leap… I land… not on the other side of the gate but into the puddle itself… I am horrified to see my white shoes turn brown & my white uniform spattered with mud … just imagining my mother’s face makes me sweat…

The huge drops falling on me bring me back to the present. I quickly take out my umbrella & several timelines flash before me. Some sweet… some bitter…

I am returning home from school… its pouring… I don’t have umbrella… there is lightening & thunder… in some places water is ankle deep whereas in some places water almost reaches till my knee… I am scared of open man holes hidden in water… I move slowly & carefully…I am shivering…just then I see my mom… the mere sight of her fills me with warmth… she is running towards me, umbrella in hand… I grin…she takes my hand… I am safe…

I switch to another timeline…

I am frantically searching for my dark pink umbrella which has black spokes…it’s my favourite…I love the colour & it is strong… I had forgotten it in class… it’s not there when I return…I mourn its loss…

The pain brings me out of my reverie. I tightly grasp my current umbrella. Just then a gust of wind blows, it blows away the pain & reminds me of a funny time.

I was small & the umbrella was big… the wind tries to snatch away my umbrella…but I hold it tight…the wind blows so hard that it almost lifts me along with the umbrella…I pull back with all my might…the wind is frustrated… it upturns the spokes of the umbrella…and I am left standing with an inverted umbrella…everybody laughs…

A strong smell of bhajiyas frying in oil at a nearby stall bring me back to the present. It takes me to yet another point in time.

We are on top of a mountain for a family outing…we are surrounded by mist …the air is chilled…it starts to drizzle…hot onion bhajiyas are served in a plate…they vanish in a second as everyone is hungry… I take a sip of my hot tea…it tastes like heaven…

A loud thunder pushes me back to the present. I manage to enter my flat just as it starts pouring. I make myself a hot coffee. As I stand near the window, the smell of coffee & the cool spray of rain on my face, takes me to a memorable time when I was working at my previous office…

IMG_20140715_153002I am staring at my desktop… I hear pitter patter of rain on the office window… I ping my friends for coffee…we are at the terrace garden with coffee cups in our hand… we are mesmerized by the rain…momentarily forgetting our worries… the air is cold but the coffee is warm…we chat…we giggle…enjoying our warm conversations in the cool rain…

The magical drops from the Heavens truly are remarkable time machines. They have the power to take you back in time & also help you create memories of the present time so that you can visit them from the future point of time!

2 thoughts on “Heavenly Time Machines

Leave a Reply

